Baseball fireworks

Happy 4th of July! I love fireworks, I still stare in amazement at the sky whenever I see them. When I was a child my parents would take my sister and I to the fireworks night the New York Mets would host at Shea Stadium. I haven’t been back to fireworks night since I was in middle school and last night after the Mets beat the Philadelphia Phillies there was a fireworks show at Citi Field. I loved Shea Stadium, my childhood was spent there and I literally got to feel the stadium shake when Mike Piazza returned as a San Diego Padre and hit a homerun and everyone was up on their feet cheering him, despite the fact that he was playing against the Mets. It may not have been the best looking baseball stadium, but to me it was home. We may have had seats in red, blue, green and orange, the outside of the stadium may have been more purple than blue, but as a Met fan, you loved it regardless. I think Citi Field is a great ballpark, but it still doesn’t quite feel like home yet. The fireworks show they put on last night was great and there was a nice video tribute to the past fifty years of the team’s history. Sitting there in the upper deck of leftfield watching the fireworks light up the ballpark, it actually started to feel a little bit more like home.

I took these photos with my iPhone so they aren’t great, but I gave it a shot anyway. I purchased a new zoom lens the other day for my camera so I’m looking forward to trying out fireworks shot with it.

Share your thoughts